top of page
Writer's pictureMatthew Twells

He Who Dares…. Rodders… He Who Dares! by Phil Green (No.2 in the Veteran Tries the OSCP Series)




I must be insane?


But I’ve done it! I have booked the OSCP and I am due to start on the 4th April 2020

Smack bang at the beginning of the biggest crisis this country, nay, the world has ever seen.

The country is still (barely) open, my work has shut down, initially only for a week though.

My big gamble is that between the Chancellor’s announcements to support the self-employed through this and my modest savings I can afford to be 1) out of work for a while and 2) have enough spare free time to be able to properly commit to an intense 3 months of learning…


Wish me luck!!

So there I am, the excuses are behind me, I have just had the conversation with my wife Lisa - she was fully supportive.

Even with all the uncertainty around us and even though it means me squirreling myself away in the home office for potentially 90 days, while society becomes increasingly difficult and restrictive

Even sharing the space with my son, who continues his Primary education within arms reach and earshot…


What have I done?

Plan


My initial thoughts are that I will go all out and spend as much time in the labs as I can, hoping that by 4th April I will have the opportunity to spend lots of (too much?) time at home studying the materials and practicing.


I am thinking that I will book a first attempt at the exam at the 60-day mark.

I am going to assume that I won’t pass the first time, (I’ve heard all the best pentesters pass second+ time round – that is true right?)

In any event, I will learn lots about the structure and where I have gaps in my knowledge and will book a second attempt at or soon after the 90-day mark – how does that sound to those who have been here before me?

In other news, the boy continues to chat Minecraft crap to his mates… I better get used to it, or at least put the noise-canceling headphones to good use :)


Editor's Note: Excellent Idea!

The emails from OffSec have started… I really have done this, haven’t I?

They want some ID ‘cause I’m using a free email address rather than a work/student address.

GULP!

51 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page