top of page
Writer's pictureDorian Oliver Collier

Waffles and Cybersecurity

Updated: Feb 27, 2020




This happened 2-3 years ago, at a cafe called Gina's in Freetown. Best waffles ever, miss that place...

Buuuut any ways I'm at Gina's, because waffles and free Wi-Fi and I happen to sit beside a man having issues logging in to his Facebook account, in fact he couldn’t bring up the page at all.

Long story short, this guy’s computer had a static ip address configured on his laptop.

He then, started complaining about other issues, and I thought, hey let me help this could lead to something else down the line.

It was during this check I found out that this was his OFFICIAL laptop. With tons of correspondence and confidential information in it, and with some very very questionable videos also lodged in there for good measure.

Now remember, I don’t know this guy from Adam, and he had just casually given me the keys to his professional life and a treasure trove of info I could’ve used to blackmail him or his company.


👉As an organization, you can put all of the policies in place, but you need to train your staff on the safe use of office property and data.


👉Also, if the employee has to work from home, have them log in through a VPN to a workspace.


👉Better yet, lock employees out of the administrative account on their laptops.


👉Also, equip your staff with a 4G modem that they can use to connect to the secure server. That will at least negate the need for them connecting office property to an unsecured public network.

7 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page